Millenniumsziele 2015

"The world’s agriculture could easily feed 12 Billion people. That means a child who dies of hunger today is being murdered."
(Jean Ziegler, UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food and author of the Book “Das Imperium der Schande”)

What are the UN’s Millennium Goals and how can we achieve these goals? The following texts and links aim to help understand this complex undertaking by the UN and the problems of the world in order to enable you to form your own opinion/impression about these issues.

These are the UN’s Millennium Goals
(source: www.un-kampagne.de)

MDG 1: Eradicate Extreme Poverty and Hunger
What constitutes extreme poverty? If you want to eradicate poverty you have to know what you are up against. Owing to new data concerning price development in the developing countries the World Bank raised the poverty level last year. Extreme poverty constitutes having less than 1.25 US Dollar or equivalent per day to live (survive) on. Up to this date it had been set at 1 US Dollar. With the new level the number of people living in poverty has increased even further.

MDG 2: Achieve Universal Primary Education
Education is the key to a just world. Whoever has knowledge, is able to read, calculate and can gain information by doing so, is less dependent on others, less likely to be oppressed and is able to use opportunities to get themself out of poverty.

MDG 3: Promote Gender Equality
Education is of particular importance for women. Education builds confidence. Confident women find it easier to develop networks and are more likely to protest against unjust situations.

MDG 4: Reduce Infant Mortality
Every three seconds a child dies. The cause of death is often an avoidable illness caused by insufficient immunisation, polluted water or unhygienic living conditions.

MDG 5: Improve Maternal Health
In the developing countries one in 48 women dies during labour. This shocking statistic also relates to the fact that in these countries women often get married much too young at the age of 12 -14.

MDG 6: Combat HIV/AIDS and Other Diseases
In Sub-Saharan Africa malaria alone kills a child every 30 seconds. This statistic becomes even more alarming when other diseases are added.

MDG 7: Ensure Environmental Sustainability
The environment appears to only be getting in the way of our fight for survival and the development of a flourishing economy - a fatal deception.

MDG 8: Develop a Global Partnership for Development
What is development aid? - Charitable gift, creation of new markets or means to fight poverty? Goal number 8 gives the responsibility for the "global deal" in the fight against poverty to both industrial and developing countries.

Goals 1-7 take the developing countries to task: They have to use their financial resources (which often are not as stretched as we think) to help the poor, to fight against corruption and for equality and to further democratic processes. Goal eight commits the industrial countries to use their position of power to achieve equality for all countries.

That means: More money for better quality development aid, effective debt relief, support of governments which actively fight against poverty in their developing countries. It also requires the removal of trade barriers in order to give poor countries a real chance in the world market.

Further information

Was ist erreicht?

Millenniumsziele 2015

"Die Weltlandwirtschaft könnte problemlos 12 Milliarden Menschen ernähren. Das heißt, ein Kind, das heute an Hunger stirbt, wird ermordet."
(Jean Ziegler, UN-Sonderberichterstatter für das Recht auf Nahrung und Autor des Buches „Das Imperium der Schande“)

Was sind die Millenniumsziele der UNO und wie können diese Ziele erreicht werden? Die folgenden Texte und Links sollen dabei helfen, das komplexe Vorhaben der UNO sowie die Problemstellungen der Welt zu verstehen und dabei helfen sich ein eigenes Bild zu machen.

Das sind die Millenniumentwicklungsziele der UNO
(Quelle: www.un-kampagne.de)

Ziel 1: Bekämpfung von extremer Armut und Hunger
Wann ist ein Mensch extrem arm? Wer die Armut bekämpfen will, muss wissen, wogegen er antritt. Durch neue Daten über die Preisentwicklung in den Entwicklungsländern hat die Weltbank die Armutsgrenze vergangenes Jahr angehoben. Als extrem arm gilt jetzt, wer weniger als den Gegenwert von 1,25 US-Dollar pro Tag zum (Über-)Leben zur Verfügung hat. Bisher war es ein Dollar. Durch den neuen Wert ist die Zahl der Armen noch höher, als zuvor.

Ziel 2: Primarschulbildung für alle
Bildung ist ein Schlüssel für eine gerechtere Welt. Wer Wissen hat, wer lesen, schreiben und rechnen kann, wer sich informieren kann, ist weniger auf andere angewiesen, weniger anfällig für Ausbeutung und kann Gelegenheiten nutzen, sich selbst aus der Armut zu befreien.

Ziel 3: Gleichstellung der Geschlechter / Stärkung der Rolle der Frauen
Für Frauen ist Bildung besonders wichtig. Denn Bildung macht selbstbewusst. Und selbstbewusste Frauen bilden leichter Netzwerke und begehren schneller gegen ungerechte Situationen auf.

Ziel 4: Senkung der Kindersterblichkeit
Alle drei Sekunden stirbt ein Kind. Die Todesursache ist oft eine vermeidbare Krankheit, die durch mangelhaften Impfschutz, verschmutztes Wasser oder unhygienische Lebensbedingungen hervorgerufen wird.

Ziel 5: Verbesserung der Gesundheitsversorgung der Mütter
In den Entwicklungsländern stirbt eine von 48 Frauen bei der Entbindung. Die schockierende Quote hängt auch damit zusammen, dass Frauen dort oft viel zu früh, etwa im Alter von 12 bis 14 Jahren, verheiratet werden.

Ziel 6: Bekämpfung von HIV/AIDS, Malaria und anderen schweren Krankheiten
Allein Malaria tötet in Subsahara-Afrika alle 30 Sekunden ein Kind. Nimmt man weitere Krankheiten hinzu, wird die Statistik noch schockierender.

Ziel 7: Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit
Im Kampf ums Überleben und beim Aufbau einer blühenden Wirtschaft ist die Umwelt scheinbar nur im Weg. Ein fataler Trugschluss.

Ziel 8: Aufbau einer globalen Partnerschaft für Entwicklung
Was ist Entwicklungshilfe: Milde Gabe, Schaffung neuer Absatzmärkte oder Mittel zur Armutsbekämpfung? Ziel 8 überträgt den Industrie- und Entwicklungsländern die gemeinsame Verantwortung für den "global deal" der Armutsbekämpfung.

Die Ziele 1 bis 7 nehmen die Entwicklungsländer in die Pflicht: Sie müssen ihre oftmals gar nicht so knappen finanziellen Mittel für die Armen einsetzen, die Korruption bekämpfen, Gleichberechtigung und demokratische Prozesse fördern. Ziel 8 verpflichtet die Industrieländer dazu, ihre wirtschaftliche Machtstellung für eine Gleichberechtigung aller Länder zu gebrauchen.

Das bedeutet: Mehr Geld für eine qualitativ bessere Entwicklungshilfe, wirksamer Schuldenerlass, die Unterstützung von Regierungen, die die Armut in ihrem Entwicklungsland aktiv bekämpfen. Und es erfordert den Abbau von Handelshemmnissen, damit arme Länder eine echte Chance auf dem Weltmarkt haben.

Interessante Links:

Was ist erreicht?